Old Covenant…New Covenant

The Ten Commandments on a monument on the grou...

Image via Wikipedia

 

What’s the Believer to do with The Law?

 Jer 31:31  “Behold, the days are coming, declares the LORD, when I will make a new covenant with the house of Israel and the house of Judah,

Jer 31:32  not like the covenant that I made with their fathers on the day when I took them by the hand to bring them out of the land of Egypt, my covenant that they broke, though I was their husband, declares the LORD.

Jer 31:33  But this is the covenant that I will make with the house of Israel after those days, declares the LORD: I will put my law within them, and I will write it on their hearts. And I will be their God, and they shall be my people.

Jer 31:34  And no longer shall each one teach his neighbor and each his brother, saying, ‘Know the LORD,’ for they shall all know me, from the least of them to the greatest, declares the LORD. For I will forgive their iniquity, and I will remember their sin no more.”

 Jeremiah 31:31-34

 The Law and the Prophets

 The above phrase is indicative and inclusive of the entire Old Testament. Or if you wish Old Covenant since that’s what testament means. It would be quite simple of me to go right out and state the following: We live in New Testament times, therefore we live under the New Testament/Covenant if I left it at that this would be a rather short post so I’m not going to do that. What I am going to do however is look at whether or not we’re still beholden to the Ten Commandments or our now under something much better.

 The Mission of Jesus Christ

 Mat 5:17  “Do not think that I have come to abolish the Law or the Prophets; I have not come to abolish them but to fulfill them.

Mat 5:18  For truly, I say to you, until heaven and earth pass away, not an iota, not a dot, will pass from the Law until all is accomplished.

Mat 5:19  Therefore whoever relaxes one of the least of these commandments and teaches others to do the same will be called least in the kingdom of heaven, but whoever does them and teaches them will be called great in the kingdom of heaven.

 Matthew 5:17-19

 This seems to fly right in the face of the passage from Jeremiah doesn’t it except for one huge issue the root word for commandments in Matthew 5:19 is not the same as the root word for The Ten Commandments, or the law.

 Commandments in Matthew 5:19 is entole, which means teachings.

Commandments or Law in the ten Commandments comes from, nomos, where we get the word nomenclature.

When Jesus came He was born a Jew, under the law, He had to fulfill the law perfectly He had to fulfill the nomenclature to the smallest Jot and Tittle, if you will, or He could not have been either the God Man or perfect.

So when then was everything fulfilled…everything about the law and the prophets was fulfilled on the Cross at Calvary!

Joh 19:30  When Jesus had received the sour wine, he said, “It is finished,” and he bowed his head and gave up his spirit.

Telestai! It is finished! All has been fulfilled, everything is complete, Jesus cannot possibly do any more He has fulfilled the law and the prophets. He has perfectly fulfilled the Old Covenant, in fact the Bible describes it as being nailed to the cross.

But let’s back up for a moment; let’s be certain we know what the Old Covenant was.

Continue reading